Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for October 1st, 2007

Well, I haven’t had time to keep a time-stamped log today of how I feel, but overall I have had better energy levels and focus today than usual.  I have not had ANY heart palpitations; no major slumps; no episodes of extreme fatigue or depression, though I did have a little nap at about 2:30 as I felt my focus slipping.  Just about 10 minutes but it did wonders.

Overall I have felt pretty good today, energy wise.  Tonight will be a test as I have to work, we will see how I’m feeling by about 10!  It will also be a good test of my “straight-to-bed” thing.  Not eating I think will be a breeze, but we will see.  I am packing my snack though!

Read Full Post »

10/1/07

Today is a good day!  It’s a Monday, the first day of the month, and a day when I have a house full of fresh, healthy food.  What better day to start focusing on my eating, right? 

And to top it all off, I feel like I’m in the right place mentally to do so.  All those things rarely coincide, so I feel good about today.  🙂

I’m coming off a good, though somewhat stressful, weekend, and I feel good about that too.  Having Saturday off is a very good thing for me, it really helps me to recharge and assimilate all that’s happened through the week, and be ready for what’s coming.  I also had a very short non-closing shift on Sunday which was great so I feel sort of regenerated.

Today I have all my food packed, and it’s all healthy stuff.  There are still some chips and sweets here at the office from my planned binge Friday that never materialized.  I am not going to stress about them.  If I eat them, I eat them; I am just going to focus on eating the healthy stuff I brought first.   I think if I do that, I won’t be so tempted, and if I don’t stress about it, it won’t feel forbidden, which will decrease the temptation even more.

I have a ton of work to get done today, so I am going to focus really hard on that and try to make this a really good productive day that I can feel good about.  Already have my spot exercises started, so I feel like I’ve started out strong!

Read Full Post »

Well, after a week I have decided to review my game plan and see how I am doing.

First, I feel that I have done GREAT with Step One, which was to get back to drinking my water and start repairing my sleep loss.  I have been getting to bed earlier on most nights, though not all, and I did get some extra sleep this weekend, which feels really good.  I have gotten my water in consistently, and have gotten back to drinking mostly water and very little soda, a trend that I will continue and even escalate this week.  I know that the improved hydration has really helped my energy levels, which is good.

I have actually gotten a little ahead of myself with the spot exercises, adding them in sooner – much sooner! – than my Game Plan indicated.  I wasn’t supposed to start back with strength exercises for a couple of weeks yet.  It was too good an idea to pass up, though, and I have always been most successful when I strike while the iron is hot, so to speak – my mental state has always been the most important piece of the puzzle.  So I’m on that train for better or worse – and I think it’s better, because I think it is improving my energy and self-respect, and I am already seeing some differences in my own shape.  The muscles I built before are still there; they just need tone.  That feels really good.

I am getting ahead of myself with food, too; this week was supposed to be my week to start packing my food, but not necessarily stressing about how healthy it is.  However, I packed only really healthy stuff, in keeping with a normal program-friendly meal plan.  I think that’s okay though, because again mental state is very important and I feel ready to do this.  Also, this past weekend was grocery-shopping weekend, so I am all stocked up on healthy stuff.  So again, I guess I will accelerate the plan to fit circumstances. 

I don’t think of this as a bad thing though, because I’m not accelerating it from a feeling of pressure or a timeline.  I just think it’s the right time to do these things.  So I suppose I can look at my Game Plan as more of a set of guidelines, that I should be doing these things by a certain time – but can do them sooner if needed, or wait a little longer if necessary, too.

Overall, I feel really good about this.  I’ve said that a million times before and meant it and it’s fizzled out anyway, but I think as long as you keep trying, you haven’t failed.  I’ve lost 30 and kept it off; now it’s time to go for the next 30.  Positivity is crucial.

This week I am focusing on eating the right things.  I will not beat myself up if I also eat some of the wrong ones; I am just going to concentrate on getting my fruits and veggies in.  That’s a good key for this week, I think; along with maintaining the changes I made last week – the water, eating breakfast every day, getting as much regular sleep as I can, and the spot exercises.

Read Full Post »

Older Posts »