Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for March 6th, 2008

Good morning, my lovelies!  I hope everyone is doing beautifully this marvelous Thursday morning!

Have you ever noticed how we sort of ignore Tuesdays and Thursdays?  Mondays we all dread…Wednesdays we celebrate as Hump Days, and of course Friday, Saturday and Sunday are everyone’s favorites.  Poor Tuesday and Thursday!  I’m making Tuesday honorary Healthy Living Celebration Day (cause TBL is on that night, so it sort of makes sense) and Thursday is Last Chance Workout and Whoo-Hoo, Nearly the Weekend Day.  (Cause I weigh in on Fridays…not true for everyone, but pick your own reason to celebrate Thursday and substitute if you like.)  🙂

Okay, enough silliness.  (Well…mostly.)  I have to confess I am walking on air today, for a couple of reasons.  One, I’m still so touched by DH’s wonderfulness from last night, and two, I finally started my period.  I mean, really started.  Which is making me incredibly uncomfortable today, I will admit, but I am so glad it’s finally happening that I don’t even care about the aches and pains and everything else.

It does make me a little apprehensive about tomorrow’s weigh-in, but in light of the fact that it’s been so long, I’m not going to sweat the numbers.  Even if tomorrow is disappointing, next week (by default) will have to be great, as long as I don’t blow it a lot between now and then.  So it’s all good.

I am a little concerned about my ability to work out tonight, too…right now I’m in a lot of pain and having a little trouble moving around, so I’m not terribly confident about my ability to repeat my circuit/C25K feat from Tuesday.  It was hard then, it might be impossible now.  But I’m going to try, assuming I’m not completely prone by then, because the worst case scenario is I have to stop halfway through, and that’s still better than nothing.  And I can still do the C25K run tomorrow without compromising my ability to finish Week 1 this week.

And yesterday was my second Gold Star day in a row, despite numerous temptations, so I really feel that I’m back in the groove with eating.  All in all, I am pretty happy with the way things are going now, and I’m stomping firmly on the head of that nasty little voice that keeps going, “Yeah, so now something is bound to go wrong,” because that voice is no longer invited to my schizo-party.  It was never much of a fun guest anyway, and frankly it was bringing the rest of my personalities down.  🙂

I do have one complaint/comment/question:  for those of you doing the Couch to 5K – have you noticed sore ankles?  Not the joints really, I think it’s the muscles, but man they are killing me!  I had very weak ankles when I was younger though I think they’re much improved, but I’m a little concerned that this may be a sign of a flawed gait.  I’m thinking I probably need to look into getting fitted for shoes that will help that, but am I overthinking?  Is this just something that is normal and I just have to work those muscles more? 

One thing that is encouraging is that even though my hips were hurting some after I finished the first run, they were not hurting as badly as they did from just walking.  Is that strange, or is running not as hard on them as walking?  If you have gait problems when walking, does it change when you’re running?  This may be an amazingly stupid question.  It’s all just so confusing.  Can you tell I’m a complete running novice?  🙂

Anyway, that’s my day in a nutshell.  It’s chilly here but in my little personal world it’s sunny and 80 degrees because I’m just very happy.  I hope everyone has a wonderful, magical day and something amazingly special happens that just restores your joy and faith in the universe.  MWAH!

Read Full Post »